Posted in Content Area Learning

Two Blogs that I recommend

Over the last few months of creating and writing this blog, I have ran across a few outstanding blogs. I wanted to give you two recommendations that I thought other teachers, like yourself, would want to check out as well.

sdl-logo2.png

First, is a blog by Dr. Richard Selznick called The Shut-Down Learner. This blog is great because it focuses on the students who have learning disabilities and Dr. Selznick does address many of the different types of issues students could face during their learning. The blog is also very easily organized, so the visitor is able to search and find topics very quickly. There are also several blogs through out each main category including Intervention & Remediation, Writing Difficulties, Dyslexia and various others. I have found this blog to very helpful while working in Special Education, especially last semester when I was working with a student who was diagnosed with Dyslexia and I was trying to assess and evaluate his true reading levels and abilities. I also agree with a lot of Dr. Selznick’s opinions and observations about how we allow ourselves to teach and what we require from students based on Common Core or other standards. I would suggest you also check it out or follow it to get more information and advice about teaching your students with learning disabilities.

friEdTechnology-with-starburst-350.png

The other blog, firEdTechnology, is written by Amy Mayer, who has worked in public education for over 20 years. This blog is aimed at educational technology, but does have some blogs posts that pertain to teaching students with disabilities, as well as incorporating technology into the content area subjects for all students. I have found this blog very helpful in learning about new technologies and methods of how to incorporate those technologies into the classroom. One of her blogs identified Google cardboard, which I have yet to use, and demonstrated and even laid out all of the steps of how to get it loaded and working, so your students can begin to use it in the classroom. Also, she created a cheat sheet of sorts to all of the google links for apps and pages that are very helpful in the classroom, so teachers can just print or make their own to post in their classrooms or provide to each student. I highly recommend that you check out this blog and find some awesome resources for your students and maybe even learn a little more about technology, yourself.

Lastly, if there are any blogs that you follow I would love to hear about them. Please share them with me. Leave a comment or shoot me an email at getnewby@gmail.com.

 

One thought on “Two Blogs that I recommend

  1. I am glad that you find these two inspiring blogs so helpful! And it’s great that you actually have applied some of their ideas and strategies to support your own students. Good for you!

    Like

Leave a comment