Posted in CEP 812

P.Q. & C.Q. vs. I.Q.

I recently read the article by Thomas L. Friedman entitled It’s P.Q. and C.Q. as Much as I.Q. and I cannot say that I completely agree with this ideas about how the Great Recession was started and the ideas he presented about how to continue the progress to come out of the Great Recession. He defines P.Q. as passion quotient and C.Q. as curiosity quotient.

However, I do agree with his thoughts on moving the world to a more digital based environment where there is a greater emphasis on technology. With that said, in my teaching approach I have to be very creative in my abilities to incorporate  because I am not a classroom teacher anymore. I now work with pre-K children who have been diagnosed with Autism through Applied Behavior Analysis. Many of the children that I work with start out being non-verbal and with severe behaviors. In order for me to implement technology into my methods, I am really only able to use Augmented Assistive Devices. Meaning using technology as tools to increase their skills, especially trough communication.

I created a short digital presentation to demonstrate my usage of technology with my student to further my teaching of students to fit the theories of Friedman and his thoughts about P.Q. and C.Q.. Ultimately, based upon his theory many of my clients would be able to have a successful future because they are not able to meet the past requirements of I.Q. based merits and thus many of the would excel in certain areas based on the P.Q. and C.Q. model.

My digital presentation.

Reference

Friedman, T. L. (2013, January 29). It’s P.Q. and C.Q. as Much as I.Q. The New York Times, p. A27.

Leave a comment